Household Hazardous Waste Facility for Businesses

Services are available for businesses that qualify as Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generators per regulations (CCR Title 22 §66260.10), which are businesses that generate 100 kilograms (27 gallons liquid or 220 pounds solid) or less of hazardous waste per month. The Agency offers two options: the HHW Facility and HHW Collection Events. These services are available for businesses that generate Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) only; no hazardous waste from manufacturers or large quantities will be accepted.

There are also options for Sonoma County residents.

Business program at the Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) Facility

Located at the Central Disposal Site, the Household Toxics Facility is open for drop-off of hazardous waste from qualifying Sonoma County businesses.

Appointment: Appointment required. To make an appointment, download the following forms and fax (707-795-2071, fax) or email toxicsdisposal@cleanharbors.com and attach the completed questionnaire and inventory forms. If you have any questions, please call (707) 795-2025, option 2/ (877) 747-1870.

Appointment line staffed M-F from 8am to 2:30pm or leave a message.

Hours: Tuesdays & Wednesdays 8:30 am–1:30 pm

Location: Central Disposal Site (Bldg. 5) at 500 Mecham Road, Petaluma

Forms & fees:Paperwork required. $25 processing fee plus disposal fees based on type and quantity of waste. Download forms here:

  • Fax cover sheet (Microsoft Office Word 97-2003 Document: 44 KB)
  • Questionnaire (Microsoft Office Word 97-2003 Document: 40.5 KB)
  • Inventory (Microsoft Office Word 97-2003 Document: 53 KB) or download a .pdf of the complete package Business Hazardous Waste In-Take Forms (PDF: 61.2 KB)
  • Required Obtain a California EPA ID Number
    State law requires hazardous waste generators to have an EPA Identification Number. All participants of the Business Hazardous Waste Program MUST HAVE an EPA Identification Number to transport hazardous waste to the Household Toxics Facility for disposal. If all you have is latex paint and/or Universal Waste (Fluorescent tubes/bulbs and other mercury-containing lamps, household batteries, rechargeable batteries, button batteries, thermostats, thermometers, non-empty aerosol cans) you do not need an EPA ID number.
Flourescents

TYPES OF EPA ID NUMBERS

California Permanent ID Numbers

  • Businesses that generate waste on an ongoing basis must have a permanent ID number, you must complete the required application, DTSC Form 1358. There is no fee to obtain a permanent ID number. It will take approximately 3 to 5 business days to process your application. Remember, if 5 or more tons of hazardous waste will be generated in a calendar year on your permanent ID number, generator fees may be due. Go to the Board of Equalization website
  • California Temporary ID Numbers
    Temporary ID numbers (90-day numbers) are issued to people or businesses that do not generate hazardous waste on an ongoing basis. Temporary ID numbers must now be obtained online. DTSC no longer issues temporary ID numbers by phone, only online to apply for a temporary ID number. There is no fee to obtain a temporary ID number. If you have any questions, please contact DTSC at (800) 618-6942. When you hear the recorded message, press 1 and then 3 to speak to staff. Remember if 5 or more tons of hazardous waste will be generated in a calendar year on a temporary ID number, generator fees apply. Go to the Board of Equalization website
Oil-filter_sm

Resources

Common questions and answers

Q. What is the process?

A. 1. Download Business Hazardous Waste Disposal Forms from this website.
2. Obtain an EPA Waste ID number (if needed).
3. Submit paperwork by fax or email to receive an appointment and pricing information.

Q. Will this program meet the disposal requirements of regulating agencies?
A. You will receive a receipt of disposal for your records that will satisfy regulatory disposal requirements. Receipts and all records should be kept for a minimum of three years.

Q. If my business generates more than 100 kilograms of one type of waste, but I have only 1 gallon of something else that my regular hauler won’t accept, can I bring it to this program?
A. You must generate less than 100 kilograms of all hazardous wastes to qualify to use this program.

Q. Does using this program mean my business will be inspected for hazardous waste?
A. The Sonoma County Waste Management Agency is not a regulatory agency.

Q. Who are the regulatory agencies for my business?
A. Contact the Certified Unified Program Agency (CUPA) for your area.